Crochet, Hobbies, Ravelry

Happy Scrappy Gorgeousness!

Hey lovelies,
This week I decided to share the two scrappy crochet projects that I am seriously loving right now.

Last year I decided to make my own interpretation of the cosy memories blanket, which as I’m sure you all know is a knitted mitred square blanket. I didn’t want to knit a blanket, but loved the idea of a “cosy memories” blanket, and thus my cosy reflection blanket was born!

This blanket is made using crochet hexagons, and I’m following the instructions for the Weekender Blanket by Sandra Paul of cherryheart.co.uk.

I am also being very thoughtful with regards to the order and way I am making this blanket, and I am keeping a reflection diary detailing each hexagon, the yarn used, and who the yarn was from if I was a mini I was sent. My aim is to make this blanket 25 hexies by 25, which will be the perfect throw size for my bed.

As if one scrappy project was not enough, I also fell down the crochet rabbithole that is the granny stripe blanket. This is a craze that has took the fiber IG world by storm, and I was totally sucked in! Like many I’m following the granny stripe blanket pattern by Lucy of Attic24. Unlike my cosy reflection blanket there is no rhyme nor reason to the order of the yarns in this one, and I love it’s scrappy gorgeousness!! I basically just make a huge magic cake from my scraps & odds and ends and work them into this blanket. Isn’t it just beautiful?!

Scrappy projects are taking Ravelry & Instagram by storm, and for good reason! They are the perfect way to use up leftovers, mini skeins & little odds and ends.  I have seen scrappy blankets, shawls, and even socks!

Are you making any scrappy projects at the moment? I would love to hear about them if you are!

Till next time,
Naomi x

Leave a comment