Crafts, Crochet, Fibromyalgia, Sewing

Crafty Goodies

Hey lovelies!

The past week has definitely been a crafts-oriented one for me! As I mentioned in a previous post, I signed up for a class to learn how to sew.  I went to my first class two weeks ago and I absolutely loved it! The teachers of the class are lovely women, and the lady who was teaching me was so patient too.  She went through everything step by step, and I made myself a bag.  My first ever sewing project! And it’s lined too!

Ta da!

I’m currently using it as a project bag, and in my 2nd class I made the little zipped pouch in the same fabric.

I loved my first lesson so much that I actually went and bought myself a sewing machine and some fabric too.  I can’t wait until I have learnt more! The sewing machine I bought is the Brother LS14, which is the same as the one I use in class.  I have bought a few fat quarters of fabric both from eBay and also a local craft shop.

At the weekend I also bought this sewing machine bag in Dunelm Mill.  It’s so cute!

I love this bag, and it is a great way to store my machine instead of the box.  And I also got the matching sewing basket, which is adorable!

This week I also made my mum a bag at home (first project without any help). She loves it so I’m really pleased!

As if that wasn’t enough, this weekend I also tackled my first ever garment sewing project! I decided I wanted to make the Hollyburn Skirt by Sewaholic, and I also decided to make it in a gorgeous purple fabric for Fibromyalgia Awareness day. And guess what? I ACTUALLY DID IT!! 
TA DA!!!!!!

I am so proud of myself and pleased with how to turned out! With the help from my friends mum and her best friend I cut the fabric yesterday, and last night I started sewing it together. Today I got the rest of the sewing done apart from the hem which I plan on doing tomorrow. I’m so pleased! I even managed to add an invisible zip!! Whoop!! I am also really happy with the way I made the pockets with the butterfly print fabric. I think it looks lovely!

While I am really interested in the possible projects I can plan to sew, I still love to crochet.  I have 3 current WIPS (works in progress) on the go at the minute.

My Attic24 inspired ripple blanket:

A c2c baby blanket:

and crochet coasters using Bella Coco’s pattern:

The last 2 WIPS are actually for a craft sale the charity I work for is holding this week.  For this sale I have also made:

I still have stuff to make, so I’d better get cracking over the next couple of days!

Till next time,
Naomi x

Leave a comment